I am an Authority on Amy Grant

So, last night, Mr. Belding and I were having a conversation about Amy Grant. (Note: When I make a statement like that, it’s best not to question it, dear readers. Let’s just keep moving, shall we?) And he apparently didn’t realize that Miz Grant sang anything other than gospel/Christian music.

Now, it is widely assumed that Mr. Belding is smarter than yours truly, because he has a degree in chemical engineering from UVA, he outscored me on the SAT, etc., etc. But that’s just a lazy assumption. If you scratch the surface, you’ll find that *I* am actually smarter than Mr. B, because (for example) I can name all the members of the Supreme Court AND all the members of the Backstreet Boys, N*Sync, and NKOTB. And clearly, I have wicked street smarts, because I know Amy Grant sang such secular hits as “Baby Baby”:

Do you know that when I stated with authority that Amy Grant sang “Baby Baby” and hummed a few bars for his listening pleasure, Mr. Belding had THE AUDACITY to question me? “Are you sure Amy Grant sings that?”

B*tch said WHAT? OF COURSE I’M SURE! You think a Midwestern tweenager in the ’90s is going to forget a perm like that? Or that hat? Or those romantic antics?

Here’s to you, Amy Grant. To me, you are unforgettable.

About missblissindc

Miss Bliss lives, works, and reminisces about the golden age of her youth in the Midwest from the DC area. She’s a Scorpio, but only in the good senses of that term. To share your 1980s/1990s mem’ries, e-mail missblissindc@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I am an Authority on Amy Grant

  1. AHHA says:

    Miss Bliss, I have to hand it to you….you really know your 80’s and 90’s pop culture. BUT if you TRULY were THE authority on Amy Grant, you would have posted about the scandal that was known as “Next Time I Fall in Love” with Peter Cetera….I remember some thinking she was really tramping it up way back in 1986. BTW, all this talk about AG has got me wondering…..you’re from Anderson, IN and no Sandi Patty (or Patti, if you prefer) posts? Keep up the awesome work, Miss Bliss! I’m addicted your site!

  2. SKH says:

    B*tch said what?!! Hysterical! Was it during the Heart in Motion tour that Amy developed the ever-so-light-hand-on-the-head dance move?

  3. SLH says:

    Bwahahahahah. That is the best move ever. Some call it the “oh my goodness”, but I refer to it as the “Oh, I just remembered”.

Leave a Reply

