Barbie’s Dream Kitchen

What I remember best about Barbie’s Dream Kitchen was that:
a) It strongly smelled of vanilla. Yum!
b) It had so many details…little wine goblets, a roast turkey, buttons and dials for just about everything

And it remains to this day my ideal of a dream kitchen…way to blaze the trail for the “island” kitchen concept long before it was popular, Barbie! Look at how much SPACE she has to cook and clean…and yet, it’s so economized!

In the words of La Zoe: “I. Die.”

I didn’t have a lot of Barbie “settings.” I didn’t have the Dream House. I think my sister had Home and Office Barbie’s dwelling/workspace, but that might have belonged to our neighbor, now that I think of it. But I was content with the kitchen. Food and Barbie…what more does a girl need?

About missblissindc

Miss Bliss lives, works, and reminisces about the golden age of her youth in the Midwest from the DC area. She’s a Scorpio, but only in the good senses of that term. To share your 1980s/1990s mem’ries, e-mail missblissindc@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Barbie’s Dream Kitchen

  1. NatCraft says:

    I had the home/office. It was the bomb because it had a little portable phone that Barbie could slip her hand into – plus who wouldn’t want just walk around the corner and go from home to work?!

  2. Mary El says:

    You are the girl I was jealous of! I played a lot with boys so I had to settle for Skeletor’s Castle. A kitchen that smells like vanilla? Heaven.

  3. D.J. Tanner says:

    Miss Bliss….I think you can I could be BFF’s! HEY…does your real name happen to be Kimmy Gibler!?!?!

    GUESS WHAT!?!? Recently my mom got my Barbie Dream Kitchen out of the attic, and I swear to you-it STILL has that wonderful vanilla aroma! Ahhh….and magically, even the oven ticks and “dings” when I open and close it!

Leave a Reply

