So No One Told You Life Was Gonna Be This Way…

…(clap-clap-clap-clap!)

I’m not gonna hate. I loved Friends back in the ’90s. And I will totes still watch the occasional episode on TBS or whatever. But staring deep into Ross’s “zanily” raised eyebrow in this photo…and gazing at Rachel’s “innocently beautiful” expression, and doing my best to just generally avoid looking at Joey altogether, I can’t help but feel ashamed that I just admitted to being sucked into this nonsense.

But instead of picking on all there is to mock about Friends (see, generally, the not characters but caricatures that were Phoebe, Monica, and the aforementioned Joey), I’m going to make a suggestion to the producers of Friends 2.0: Friendlier. (Because the way things are going these days, you just have to know they are going to do a “reboot” of this franchise*.)

My suggestion: Don’t make Ross and Monica siblings! Way to eliminate a possible romantic pairing, there, show. Come on, we all know the real reason we watched Friends was to see if Ross and Rachel ended up together, if Monica and Chandler would get married, and whether Phoebe and Joey were secretly doin’ it. And let’s admit it: while none of us were rooting for the red herring that was the Rachel/Joey storyline, at least it was some action!

So think about it…if the characters of Ross and Monica had not been siblings, but had merely been “friends,” there would have been more pairing situaitons. Not that I necessarily would have put them together, but you see what I mean.

So, now that I’ve opened up a whole new world of awesome, I present to you my proposed cast of Friends 2.0: Friendlier:
Rachel Green=Rachel McAdams
Monica Geller=Katy Perry
Phoebe Buffay=Amanda Seyfried
Chandler BING!=Chace Crawford
Ross Gellar=a bowl of tepid oatmeal
Joey Tribbiani=The Situation

*Yeah, I said “franchise.” What, you forgot about the masterpiece that was Joey?

About missblissindc

Miss Bliss lives, works, and reminisces about the golden age of her youth in the Midwest from the DC area. She’s a Scorpio, but only in the good senses of that term. To share your 1980s/1990s mem’ries, e-mail missblissindc@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So No One Told You Life Was Gonna Be This Way…

  1. Big Sis says:

    A bowl of tepid oatmeal, lol. I remember that awful poster. Someone saw fit to hang it in the 3rd floor lobby of my freshman dorm. *shudder*

Leave a Reply

