Rainbow Brite…See the Shining Light…

It’s days like today when even I am asking myself…why do I pretend that I have male readers? (Sorry, Jakey B. Sorry, Mr. Belding.)

Rainbow Brite is everything 8-year-old me could ever ask for: She’s shiny. She has great clothes. She’s colorful. She has a horse. There are lots of stars involved. She is available in TV, doll, and Shrinky Dink format.

And talk about make-up! I remember the doll having artfully applied blue eyeshadow, and a purple star on her cheek.

You know, if all of us late-20somethings and early-30somethings in DC got together and decided we were ALL going to start applying purple stars on our cheeks in order to brighten our workday, it would become socially acceptable to do so! Right…right?! Who’s with me?

I don’t remember that much about the TV show…I mean, I know she generally was a good and colorful female character who had a horse and some kind of fuzzy pets, and her friends were all different colors, too.

I could watch some episodes on YouTube. I could check the Wikipedia page to find out more. But I’m not going to do that. Because you know what? I like to keep my fuzzy memories fuzzy. Just like that little white fuzzy friend she’s got hanging onto her on that horse…whatever that thing is.

Instead, I’m going to remember the Christmas Eve when I unwrapped my Rainbow Brite doll, a gift from my Aunt Tammy (who, at the time, wore eyeshadow every bit as colorful as Rainbow Brite’s outfit). I remember staring at that doll for five minutes straight before finally working up the good sense to hug my aunt and tell her that I loved her, and that this doll was the best Christmas present I had ever received. I still remember the iridescent blue of that dress like it was yesterday.

Ladies, may your day be full of shining light and colorful cosmetics choices.

And not to worry, chickens. We are by no means done with rainbows. I know you want me to cover “Reading Rainbow, ” and oh, we will. And just in case you need more time wasters today, here’s a rainbow. Here’s an even more spectacular rainbow. And here is the best rainbow that ever ‘bowed.

About missblissindc

Miss Bliss lives, works, and reminisces about the golden age of her youth in the Midwest from the DC area. She’s a Scorpio, but only in the good senses of that term. To share your 1980s/1990s mem’ries, e-mail missblissindc@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rainbow Brite…See the Shining Light…

  1. Megan says:

    Just so you know, because I have to share MY knowledge, her fuzzy little friend was called a “Sprite.” Do you know why I know this? Because in my crazy household, we used to play a game called “Hide the Sprite.” [And no, there was nothing dirty aboutt this game, even though it sounds like something the creepy uncle of the family would create…] Basically, we would take turns hiding the little sprite doll, which had to be at least partially visible, and then everyone else would look for it, and the person who hid it would say “warmer” or “colder” accordingly. I remember this being a really fun game…even though in written form it sounds really lame!

    Your blog is the best Miss Bliss! I so miss your sense of humor! Also, it would be really awesome if you would post your project from Doc Mu’s class where you re-created Dante’s Inferno…just a thought. I will never forget how funny that was. And even though some of your other readers may not appreciate it, this reader would.

  2. momma jean says:

    Hey Miss Bliss – Megan gave me your link, and I enjoy your topics. Just wanted to add on to Megan’s comments and let you know that we now play “hide the sprite” with our grand daughter – she loves it.

Leave a Reply

