DuckTales…Woo-ooo!

Boo…ever since Christmas, I’ve been reading Dave Ramsey‘s sage financial advice. You know what that means, right? Saving, saving, saving. Taking lunches to work. No lattes. No ideeli, Gilt Groupe, or Rue LaLa online shopping/drooling. No over-the-top Valentine’s Day gifts, even though my Valentine really deserves them. Sigh. Where’s the fun in saving money? What role model can I look to during these belt-tightening times?

Scrooge McDuck, b*tches!

That’s right, chickens…I’m talking “DuckTales,” one of the best after-school cartoons, ever. I am so excited to anticipate that right now, when my tens of regular readers are viewing this post from the DC area, Indiana, Ohio, Michigan, California, North Carolina, and *Canada!*, they are each saying to themselves…

“DuckTales…Woo-ooo!” What a great show!

I mean, from the intro alone, you can tell that this awesome show was developed through the influences of the Three Stooges, Indiana Jones, Dick Tracey, Howard Hughes films, Daddy Warbucks, The Twilight Zone, the early Disney canon…the list goes on and on:

And, of course, the NES game!

My younger brother and I rented this game from Blockbuster frequently. In fact, there were a lot of games and videos that we “wore out,” even with renting. Mom and Dad…why didn’t you just buy us this game?!  Even Dave Ramsey would have recognized that purchase as a sound financial investment in not only our short-term entertainment, but our long-term financial development. Scrooge McDuck, even when he was literally swimming in money, was a cheap bastard. He never left a nickel behind, and he would steal one from his nephews without so much as a blink.

A click of my heels to the casually awesome guys who play old NES games, record them, and upload their efforts to YouTube. Helps relive the whole experience, and the faux-bored, “Yeah, I’ll beat this game in one take” attitude just enhances the viewing pleasure:

…Woo-ooo!

About missblissindc

Miss Bliss lives, works, and reminisces about the golden age of her youth in the Midwest from the DC area. She’s a Scorpio, but only in the good senses of that term. To share your 1980s/1990s mem’ries, e-mail missblissindc@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DuckTales…Woo-ooo!

  1. FauxaliteDC says:

    Where in the world did you find that NERD?

  2. AHHHH! This totally made my morning. I get this stuck in my head from time to time, and reminisce fondly, but seeing the intro video is SO much better. Love it!!

  3. Big Sis says:

    I also love the video game guys. I like to see how they introduce it, catch a snippet from the middle, and then skip to the end where they beat the nemesis. Nice work!

Leave a Reply

