Pardon my Exhaustive Knowledge of Broadway Musicals

Oh, hello, Popular Girl. I like your Guess? sweatshirt, with its iconic triangular logo, which is naturally reflected on the back of your jeans. And that red scrunchie in your hair is perfectly evocotive of Heathers. Yes, you can count me as impressed, and among your faithful.

Oh, this? Well, I’m flattered you noticed. This is my official Les Mis national touring cast T-shirt. Hmm? Sorry…my mistake. I should have said Les Miserables, as in the blockbuster Broadway musical about the French Revolution, which I recently saw in Indy. Yeah, Indianapolis. At the Murat Theatre. You may be aware that Les Mis is based on the eponymous novel by Victor Hugo. Oh, you weren’t aware of that. Well…that’s OK. You’re not in AP English.

Maybe if you’re interested, you can borrow my double-CD original cast recording sometime…I mean, I already have each word and each part memorized, so it’s not like I need it. Yeah, that’s right. Every word, note-perfect. I know them all by heart: Joseph, Phantom, Evita, Fiddler, Sweeney, Miss Saigon. It’s hard to pick a favorite. I mean, you should see my cousin and I when we get going on “The Confrontation“…it’s as impressive as it is hilarious! It was totally the highlight of our New Year’s Eve!

What’s that? Why yes…yes I have starred in several of these musicals right here at AHS. You probably saw my Tzeitel to Justin’s Motel in Fiddler. Yeah, we were second to last in curtain call in that one, but…you know. It’s just for fun.

Yeah, I’ll be sure to let you know when we’re having our next auditions. But I have to admit…the directors really look for people who know their musical theater. So you should really borrow that original cast recording sometime.

Oh, you can’t? Because you have a life? Hmm. I am sorry to hear that. Maybe next year.

This post is, of course, dedicated to my cousin, Jennifer…the Valjean to my Javert, the Cosette to my Eponine, the Mme. Thenardier to my M. Thenardier, and truly the love my my life. Sorry, Mr. Belding!

About missblissindc

Miss Bliss lives, works, and reminisces about the golden age of her youth in the Midwest from the DC area. She’s a Scorpio, but only in the good senses of that term. To share your 1980s/1990s mem’ries, e-mail missblissindc@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pardon my Exhaustive Knowledge of Broadway Musicals

  1. Aleksandra says:

    I just stumbled upon your blog from who knows where, and I have been totally captivated. Could it be, that there is another person in the DC area as obsessed with the late 80s and early 90s as me? I know this Guess? wearing musical lover (who knows all the words to Les Mis, Cats, and years later — Rent). You’re making me want to dig through my pantry for a bag of bugles and a crystal pepsi.

    By the way, my foster dog is also a lover of the early ’90s. She has a special affinity for 90210 in general, and for Dylan in particular: http://loveandaleash.wordpress.com/2010/11/05/long-lost-siblings/

    Aleksandra
    follow our foster: loveandaleash.worpdress.com

Leave a Reply

