The True Talents of ‘The All New Mickey Mouse Club’

Forget Britney Spears, Christina Aguilera, Justin Timberlake, Felicity, and Ryan Gosling. Yes, all these former Mouseketeers enjoy tremendous commercial and popular success, but allow me to break it down: Annette Funicello has more talent in her left pinkie nail than ALL these clowns. (Does anyone else remember when La Funicello guest-starred as herself on Full House, and Michelle Tanner kept calling her “Annette Funny-Jell-O?” Well, I do.)

And don’t get me started on the musical superiority of the REAL former Disney Stars…Exhibit A:


The Party, “In My Dreams,” 1990

Formed entirely of cast members of The All New Mickey Mouse Club, The Party was everything a late ’80s/early ’90s band should be: young, energetic, multicultural, and composed of “triple threat” members. A triple threat is an entertainer who can sing, dance, and act, exactly the skill set of Albert Fields, Tiffini Hale, Chase Hampton, Deedee Magno, and Damon Pampolina.

The Party’s cover of Dokken’s “In My Dreams” is clearly noteworthy and likes to creep up on my “Lez Git Stoopid” iPod workout mix. Today, I hope it inspires you to jam and to keep chasing your dreamz dreams.

About missblissindc

Miss Bliss lives, works, and reminisces about the golden age of her youth in the Midwest from the DC area. She’s a Scorpio, but only in the good senses of that term. To share your 1980s/1990s mem’ries, e-mail missblissindc@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The True Talents of ‘The All New Mickey Mouse Club’

  1. Pingback: Reader Request: “Let’s Get Stoopid” iTunes Mix | Zack Morris Cell Phone

  2. D.J. Tanner says:

    My hubby and I took my kids to Disney World in November and there were no remains of MMC to be found. Why oh WHY did they not become more popular? Nothing makes me want to fall in puppy love more than “Sugar is Sweet” and “I Found Love”. Geez, if only I’d looked like Tiffani, my childhood would have been perfect! BTW, Miss Bliss, any idea whatever happened to her? The mystery remains to be solved….

  3. SKH says:

    ‘Cause Fred and Mowava and the mouseketeers say
    We gonna rock right here
    Right here
    Uh oh oh
    Uh oh oh.

  4. SLH says:

    Well, not EVERY member of the Party was a triple threat…Unless you consider Damon’s “huhuhuhuhuhuhuh…..boy I tell ya, how old are we again?” to be singing.

  5. AHHA says:

    Tune in, groove on….bust out.

  6. SKH says:

    I thought Triple Threat was the Name of Chase’s hair cut in those days, considering it was three hairstyles on one head.

Leave a Reply

