An Open Letter to Mariah Carey re: Early 1990s High Notes

Dear Mariah Carey,

It seems like lately (well, ever since “Honey” in 1997), I have NO IDEA what you are singing/talking/wearing/acting/selling/spoken-word-rapping about. Why are you all “greased up” all the time? Why are you shoving perfume in my face? And what’s with those songs that don’t even have high notes?

Look. I used to love you. When you first came out with “Vision of Love,” I was floored by your voice, your hair, and what seemed to be your sweet and accessible nature. And when I saw you doing the Running Man in a black leotard in the video for “Someday,” and heard you nailing that high note at the end, I knew you were one of the greatest of all time, ever. My fingers bled from dialing into WZPL’s “Hot 9 at 9” (Indianapolis) and requesting “I Don’t Wanna Cry.”

Remember when Tommy Mottola kept you reigned in, and you wore flannel shirts and braids and frolicked through wildflowers?

Remember when your songs didn’t “sample” beats or “feature” rappers? Remember when your hair was curly and wild and free? And—most importantly—REMEMBER WHEN YOU CARED ENOUGH TO GIVE ME THAT HIGH NOTE?

Mariah, it’s not too late. With the upcoming birth of your twins, may there also be a rebirth of 1990s Mariah, the Mariah who will “always be my baby.”

With Love and Respect,

Miss Bliss

About missblissindc

Miss Bliss lives, works, and reminisces about the golden age of her youth in the Midwest from the DC area. She’s a Scorpio, but only in the good senses of that term. To share your 1980s/1990s mem’ries, e-mail missblissindc@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Open Letter to Mariah Carey re: Early 1990s High Notes

  1. ahhhh….. old (young) mariah… miss you much…love miss you much…
    xoxo

  2. Meg says:

    The hair! Oh, the hair. It gave hope to an awkward, chunky and eternally frizzy-haired me circa 1996. Mariah was awesome . . . and “Always Be My Baby” will forever be the jam to which I skated my very first couples skate at the local rink when I was in fifth grade.

    It was perfect.

Leave a Reply

