Hypercolor Shirts: It’s Getting Hot in Here

Woah, woah, woah…what kind of zany hijinks are going on here?

I see you are wearing what appears to be a rather plain T-shirt…but, wait a minute. Is that a handprint? How did that get there? And is that handprint remotely close to your…um…or your…uh, you know?

What possessed us to voluntarily wear shirts that reacted to heat, as if adolescents need more opportunities to draw attention to underarms, chests, or anything that might sweat? But it was irresistibly fun to walk up to a friend and “mark” him or her with your handprint. This social branding proved that you were comfortable enough with human beings to touch them, and they were comfortable enough with you to let you. And if there was a boy/girl dynamic going on, well, all the more cool.

I distinctly remember putting a handprint on the back of my 7th grade crush and feeling like I had sent him off on his day with a marker of my affection and protection. I’m sure he appreciated this sentiment from a girl encased in a modified Milwaukee back brace, glasses, and braces. (Charming personality notwithstanding.)

With Hypercolor, the heat was always on. Thank you, early 1990s, for being a time when novelty trumped all when it came to fashion.

Happy Friday!

About missblissindc

Miss Bliss lives, works, and reminisces about the golden age of her youth in the Midwest from the DC area. She’s a Scorpio, but only in the good senses of that term. To share your 1980s/1990s mem’ries, e-mail missblissindc@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hypercolor Shirts: It’s Getting Hot in Here

  1. awesome I had a pink one. Remember the colored mascara you could put in your hair. I got in so much trouble in middle school for wearing it in my hair. I also got in trouble for wearing a Party Naked T-shirt as well. Ah this blog takes me back and I love it.

  2. This reminds me of the song, “You Broke My Mood Ring.”

  3. Kristin L says:

    Oh dear hypercolor. Why is it that we felt compelled to draw attention to heat-producing body parts? And whatever happened to SpinArt? You took your shiny new Wal-mart t-shirt into the local arts and crafts store, festooned it with puffy paint and then they would spin it around at 7000 rpms for 3 minutes – instant wearable modern art.

    • You know I’m going to have to blog about that, right? I remember my friend Izzy had the best 4th grade birthday party ever…we all went to Indianapolis and made spin-art T-shirts. Mine was black with teal, hot pink, and silver.

  4. Guest says:

    I feel that if you are in casual resort wear for any kind of out door activities than it will be more comfortable, and you’ll be able to do more activities. You are able to still look fabulous as well as comfortable.

  5. Pingback: 6 Things You Wish You Never Wore in the 80s

  6. I have fun with, lead to I found exactly what I used to be having a look for.
    You have ended my four day long hunt! God Bless
    you man. Have a great day. Bye

Leave a Reply

