Early ’90s Reverie: Sohie B. Who? Oh Yeah!

Nothing beats hitting “Shuffle” on the old iPod, unless of course you are driving a long distance and hit “Scan” on the old radio. I can’t tell you how many songs and mem’ries I’ve rediscovered by letting Jesus be not only my co-pilot, but my DJ.

Which is how Sophie B. Hawkins got back on my radar. Perhaps best known for “Damn, I Wish I Was Your Lover” and its provocativly Sapphic (for a Midwestern Catholic girl in 1991) lyrics, Ms. Hawkins is a pioneer when it comes to the sincere use of the word “Shucks!” in relatively modern pop music.

For those who like their Sophie B. on the softer side (like Jesus did while we were listening to the radio the other day), I’d like to recommend her “As I Lay Me Down.” Not only does Sophie nail “gentle emoting with tree and rowboat” in this performances, but she brings it down with the lyrics “And it sounds like churchbells, or the whistle of a train on a summer evening” as well as “Like a flower, I need the rain.”

Mr. Belding, take note the next time we go to the farm to plant trees: Yes, one CAN wear make-up and a denim-and-plaid work outfit at the same time.

About missblissindc

Miss Bliss lives, works, and reminisces about the golden age of her youth in the Midwest from the DC area. She’s a Scorpio, but only in the good senses of that term. To share your 1980s/1990s mem’ries, e-mail missblissindc@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Early ’90s Reverie: Sohie B. Who? Oh Yeah!

  1. Aly says:

    I remember that song and now it’s playing in my head. On repeat. I also love that you used the word “sapphic”!

  2. AHHA1978 says:

    Good morning, Miss Bliss! Sure hope married life is treating you well!! Please post more soon!! Reminiscing about 1990 helps take the edge off of that which we call 2012!!

  3. The90skids says:

    “As I Lay Me Down” was definitely a 90’s one-hit-wonder!! Sophie B. Hawkins wanted to follow in the success of Sarah McLachlan, but didn’t have the staying power. See also: “Sunny Came Home” by Shawn Colvin; “Mouth” by Merrill Bainbridge, etc.

    I just discovered your site a few days ago and I love it! I run the very popular feed @the90skids on Instagram, with nearly 43,000 followers. I would love to help promote your website on my feed! Send me an email at: the90skids@gmail.com when you get a chance!

Leave a Reply

