Heart to Heart Bear

Now that Christmas 2011 has come and gone, there is a lot to be thankful for–it was my first Christmas with Mr. Belding, I attended a lovely midnight service with “Silent Night” by candlelight, I pulled off Paula Deen’s oyster cornbread dressing, and I got some really nice gifts. But it was a hard Christmas, too. We were with Mr. B’s family in New Jersey, and it was my first Christmas away from my family in Indiana.

Plus…I know it’s not “about” gifts, but every adult Christmas feels a bit of a let-down in some ways. As a kid, there was always at least one toy, one present, that felt magical. My favorite present ever was my Heart to Heart Bear, which I was given by Santa in 1986.

On Christmas Eve, my sister and I snuck down as usual very late to see by Christmas tree light the bounty that Santa had left. All the usual suspects were accounted for and obvious, thanks to the unique shapes of both Barbie and Nintendo game boxes. But most importantly, Heart to Heart Bear was sitting in our small rocking chair, just waiting to be hugged! He was little, cute, wearing pink pajamas and a nightcap (he was devoted to ease and sleep, just like adult me!), and his little heart really “beat!”

I remember a lot about this little guy, especially the promise in the commercial that “Heart to Heart Bear will be there when you need him!” And he was…until Mom gave him to Goodwill behind my back when I was 12.
MLhw5yxFaVE

About missblissindc

Miss Bliss lives, works, and reminisces about the golden age of her youth in the Midwest from the DC area. She’s a Scorpio, but only in the good senses of that term. To share your 1980s/1990s mem’ries, e-mail missblissindc@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heart to Heart Bear

  1. Don Bross says:

    “Heart to Heart Bear”, interesting name for the post. Really love your blog!

Leave a Reply

